Tags

, , ,

IMG_20170528_111830

God’s Word will never return void. Several years ago I met Pablo in his home suffering from the desperate consequences of some truly bad choices. His mother had called me while I was making another visit, asking me to quickly come over. Without going into all the details it was really a bad and even scary situation. I was asked to do what I could including pray for Pablo. Of course, I made sure to preach the gospel.

Time passed and I had minimal contact with Pablo. In fact, I returned to the States for a furlough, plus he, his wife, Tamara, and their two daughters actually moved out of state for several months. He had continued to make bad choices, but the Lord continued to use the Scriptures on his heart and in his conscience. Toward the end of 2016, without me knowing, he called up on the Lord.

One day, a few months back, he showed up at our church with his family. I was very happy to see him, and especially happy when he returned multiple times. I began to visit him on occasion. He made it known to me that he and his family would like to join our church. I made it clear that this would require him being sure of his salvation and that he be biblically baptism. When I asked him about his salvation, he said he had recently read Isaiah 1:18, “Come now, and let us reason together, saith the Lord: though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool.” What a great verse when settling your salvation!

His wife had already gotten matters of her salvation and baptism settled, but Pablo looked back on his life, and realized that his baptism from years back was not from a heart of faith. He told me that he needed to be baptized according to the Scriptures, and that his previous baptism was invalid. That baptism—according to the Bible—was this Sunday. He was very emotional; his wife was teary eyed. It was really a great day!

I had been noticing a definite change in him for several months now, especially while talking to him after church services or when I made visits in his home, but he had not given me all the details about his clearly going to the Lord in 2016. God, however, knew, and had made him a new creature! The Holy Spirit was now in his life. The night before I baptized him we had discussed these matters for about 2.5 hours. It was an excellent conversation, and much was settled in his heart and mind, as well as mine.

Please be praying for Pablo. In the faith, he is very young. Thankfully, he has a wonderful wife who has stood by his side through all of his mistakes and now has come to witness his conversion. Please pray for their two daughters, that these little ones would soon come to Christ. Pray they that they all grow and that our church is a great blessing to them! Thank you!

IMG_20170528_111817

IMG_20170528_101438

Sunday Morning Before the Baptism

WhatsApp Image 2017-05-28 at 9.49.59 PM

Sunday Night: Pablo Becoming a Member of the Church

WhatsApp Image 2017-05-28 at 9.51.12 PM

Handshaking Time

 

